Disc golf bags and backpacks

0

Your Cart is Empty

UPDG Team Player - Karen Roybal

PICK 9 Interview

Each UPDG Team Player picks 9 questions to answer from a much larger list.

  1. What is your favorite way to spend the day off?

    During the beginning of the pandemic I took every Monday off as a furlough day. I packed up my kayak and my disc golf bag and hit the Oregon roads on adventure days. I found fun little courses and beautiful places to paddle. I love to discover “new to me” places.

  2. What was your best vacation?

    This year I went to Juneau AK and played a DG tournament in the pouring rain, hiked through ice caves, took a helicopter ride to top of a glacier and went halibut fishing. It was the most amazing outdoor adventure and the scenery was incredible.

  3. Are you an extrovert or an introvert?

    I read a book once about extroverts and introverts and discovered that I am actually an “ambivert”. I need time alone to recharge, but I am extremely outgoing and get energy from people and groups.

  4. What's your favorite season and why?

    100% summer - all the more favorable disc golfing days.

  5. Do you prefer podcasts or music?

    BOTH! I love podcasts! I listen to wellness podcasts about ways to improve your life, attitude and meet personal goals. I listen to true crime podcasts and health podcasts…...and I also LOVE music. Mostly old rock.

  6. What causes are you passionate about?

    I am passionate about supporting causes that care for women in vulnerable life circumstances. I worked for years with local groups both in Eugene, OR and Sacramento, CA raising money and awareness for women and girls who are victims of domestic and sexual abuse. Currently I am working with a local agency who provides transition services to women rejoin society after serving time in prison. I am even hosting a fundraiser disc golf tournament to raise money to purchase christmas gifts for them.

  7. If you could have an exotic animal what would it be?

    This one is easy, I would have a monkey! I have 4 boys so it seems like I already have the training to care for one (haha). They are smart and really caring animals and capable of interacting and being part of a family.

  8. What do you do in your time alone?

    my time alone I love to hike. Mountains, trails, waterfalls or disc golf courses. I get grounded in nature. It makes me feel energized and grateful.

  9. What type of job do you want in the future?

    Although the current job that I have provides the salary and health benefits I need to raise a family. I have a goal of being a health educator. I am currently a Personal Trainer and nutrition specialist as a side gig and hope to expand that out to a career in the future, helping people decipher truth and fiction from all of the food and exercise misinformation we see every day.